Slipped

If ever there’s a time when you question my love
Just know I put you above
Before you showed me why I shouldn’t
There was a time when I couldn’t
Imagine that I’d love you less
I guess humans are too fickle
For ever after, lasting love
Yes, I put you above
But you found a way to pull me down
And so it turns out
That love is not stable and sturdy
I loved with all until you hurt me
Bent me backwards, cracked my ribs
Then cringed as my love slipped and slid
Away from who I thought you were
You wasted all my love on her.

Leave a Reply

