Disbelief

How do I say
Along the way I stopped believing
That the smoke would clear and
You’d see me more clearly
That I could be the sun for you,
That I could be your moon, your stars
Along the way it got too hard
To keep on trying, searching for
The silver lining that never did
Align with you.

What I’m trying to say is
I held on to the hope
That underneath all the smoke
There was a soul worth the waiting
But I held my breath and dived down
And all that I found was
Burnt out cells and the shell of
Broken promise.

I want you to know
There was a time when I believed in you
But I will eat alone tonight
And the night after that
Please understand
When you stopped believing in you
I did too
I think that hurt the most,
Now I have nothing more to say.

Leave a Reply

