Today

Sun shines
I can feel it on my back
Today I won’t look back at love I’ve lost
Or time I squandered
Today I want to wander
Through the present
I said I loved you and I meant it
At the time
Today I find love isn’t timeless
And I’m finding I don’t mind this
Change feels good when body bends
Old ties cut loose and fables end
When daily truths usurp pretend
Pieces that will not uphold
That was bronze today is gold
Sunshine on my arms and neck
Today not burdened with regrets
No not yets, forget too lates
Today letting go of mistakes
I loved you once but that was then
I’ve found beginning from an end.

Leave a Reply

